Since March 2008, all pilots flying in international airspace and all air traffic controllers controlling international air traffic have to provide proof that their English language proficiency is at least in accordance with ICAO Level 4. In this examination the following criteria are examined:

  • pronunciation
  • structure
  • vocabulary
  • fluency
  • comprehension
  • interaction

The ICAO rating scale comprises Levels 1 to 6, with Level 6 being the best level.

The minimum operational level required for aviation staff is Level 4.

Language proficiency will be re-tested every 3 or 6 years depending on the level achieved, i.e. Level 4 or Level 5. Candidates achieving Level 6, the expert level, are exempt from re-testing.

The reason why language proficiency testing has been introduced by the International Civilian Aviation Organisation (ICAO) was a number of incidents which, among other factors, could be traced back to lack of language proficiency.

dwi provide consulting and subsequent training in aviation English in accordance with ICAO requirements, to the aviation industry, pilots, airlines and training organizations.

We analyse your staff’s requirements and provide tailor-made solutions.

Competent Trainers
The keys to our success are clearly structured training modules and our highly-qualified, professional trainers with their professional teaching skills and methods competency.

Our aviation English training and assessor training in accordance with ICAO standards are available world-wide, in co-operation with DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung.